Council of Georgist Organizations, Inc. Annual Meeting, Sunday, August 6, 2005 Chestnut Room of the Radisson Warwick Hotel, Philadelphia, PA 19103

Call to Order: 1:47 PM

Roll call

Present Delegates and Alternates:

Association for Georgist Studies: Polly Cleveland Banneker Center for Economic Justice: Hanno Beck

Better Cities Committee: Scott Walton

Center for the Study of Economics: Josh Vincent &

Nick Rosen

Common Ground-USA: Nadine Stoner Earth Rights Institute: Alanna Hartzok

Earth-Sharing Associates: Mark Sullivan & Cay Hehner

Fairhope Single Tax Corp.: Edward Lawrence

Fairness in Taxation: Ernie Kahn Forum on Geonomics: Jeff Smith

Henry George Foundation of America: John Krom-

kowski & Josh Vincent

Henry George Foundation of Canada: John Fisher

Henry George Institute: Lindy Davies

Henry George School - Chicago: Chuck Metalitz &

Bob Drake

Henry George School - New York: Dan Kryston &

Irving Starer

Henry George School - Philadelphia: Richard Biddle Henry George School - San Francisco: David Giesen

International Single Tax Association: Pia DeSilva

Labour Land Campaign: Dave Wetzel

Pennsylvania Fair Tax Coalition: Jake Himmelstein Public Revenue Education Council: Allan Lubin

Robert Schalkenbach Foundation: Ted Gwartney & Bill Batt

вш вап

St. Louis Teachers Union: Al Katzenberger The School of Living: Artie & June Yeatman

Wisconsin Property Owners League: Gib Halverson

Total Members Present: 25

Present Affiliates (non-voting in this capacity):

Wyn Achenbaum, Thomas Ammitzboll-Bach, Herbert Barry III, Bill Batt, Joe Casey, Lu Cipolloni, Charles Ellinger, Ted Gwartney, Gil Herman, Marion Sapiro, Nic Tideman, Artie Yeatman, Greg Young **Total**

Affiliates Present:13

Present Officers (non-voting in this capacity):

President Alanna Hartzok, Vice President Ted Gwartney, Secretary Dan Sullivan, Treasurer Jake Himmelstein, Advisor Mark Sullivan, Administrator Scott Walton, Administrator and Recording Secretary Sue Walton.

Absent Delegates and Alternates:

Centro De Estudio Economica Politica Natural: Carlos Deltell

CRCT: Frank Peddle & Brendon Hennigan

Den Danske Henry George Forening

Fairhope Single Tax Advocates: Claude Arnold

Global Ecovillage: Phil Hawes

HGF-Australia

SES: Gerry and Gay Shaw

School of Economic Science & Social Philosophy:

Izzy Gliener

Washington State Georgists: Mel Forde

Delegates and Alternates Absent: 7

Absent Affiliates: George Amberg, Clay Berling, Edward Clarke, Elaine Coons, Steve Cord,* Mario Cordero, Foundation for Economic Justice, Stanley Frederiksen, Fernando Gerstein, HGF of Great Britain, Daniel Gross, Everett Gross, Tax Revolt in Progress, Al Hartheimer-Affiliate,* Don Hurford, Affiliate,* Arden Georgist Gild (Rodney Jester), Carl Johnson, Joe Johnston, Robert & Ruth Kennedy, Harold Kyriazi, Lincoln Foundation, Wayne Luney, John Morales-Affiliate, Floyd Morrow, Heather Remoff,* Steve Rickard, Center for Public Dialogue, Art Rybeck, Vern Saunders, Jerry Schleicher,* Prosper Australia, Adele Wick, Steve Zarlenga

Affiliates Absent: 33

Approval of Agenda

Prepared Agenda:

- 1. Call to Order: 1 minute
- 2. Approval of Credentials (Roll Call): 2 minutes
- 3. Approval of Agenda: 2 minutes
- 3. Approval of year 2004 Minutes: 5 minutes
- 4. Approval of 2004 Treasurer's Report: 10 minutes
- 5. Old Business

6 New Business

Appoint Nominating Committee: 7 minutes
Appoint Bylaw Revision Committee: 7 minutes

Site Selection for 2007: 15 minutes

Appoint Program Committees for '06 & '07: 10 minutes

7. Adjournment

Alanna added:

Suggestions for 2008 conference (5 min) after 2007 discussion

Discussion of how we might organize a CGO ongoing strategy system to build cooperation last item

John Kromkowski added:

Proposed use of a Budget (3 min max)

Proposed use of a timeline (3 min max)

Lindy moved to approve agenda as amended. Approved unanimously

John Kromkowski Moved to approve minutes. Approved unanimously

2004 Treasurers Report

Extended debate occurred about having a six-month treasurer's report, with no motion on the floor. Al Katzenberger moved to accept the treasurer's report as printed. Approved unanimously.

Old Business: No old business

New Business:

Nominating committee:

John Kromkowski moved that the organization have three members on the nominating committee.

Mark moved amendment that we elect a three-person nominating committee. Accepted by John as a friendly amendment. Approved unanimously.

Lindy nominates Josh

Josh nominates Lindy

Earnest Kahn Nominates himself.

Mark nominates Pia

John K. moves to close nominations. Mark objects that people have not had a chance to nominate.

Nadine nominates Chuck M.

Jake nominates Nadine (who delclined)

No further nominations. Nominations closed.

Vote occurs. Pia, Nick and Cahy Hehner retire to count votes

Appointment of a bylaws revision committee

John Kromkowski moves that we elect a bylaws committee using the same procedure for the nominating committee. Withdrew motion after discussion. It was

explained that the executive committee had asked the chair to appoint a committee to serve at the call of the chair. Alanna asked for volunteers. Gib, Jake, Lindy, Mark, Josh and John K. Gib suggested that the bylaws committee be visible on he internet to all the members. Mark stipulated that further appointments could be made and Alanna agreed.

Nominating Committee Election Results

Lindy, Josh and Chuck were elected to the nominating committee.

2007 Conference Report

Ted referred to a report previously presented at the confrence. He moved that the CGO commence work to facilitate a converence co-hosted by the University of Scranton at Scranton PA, and that the Dulles Airport area be retained as a backup location should arrangements for the 2007 Conference in Scranton be unsuccessful by October 15, 2005, and that the Washington, DC Dulles Airport area be retained as a back-up location should arrangement for the 2007 conference in Scranton be unsuccessful by October 15, 2005. Motion is approved.

2006 Conference Program Committee appointed without objection: Chuck Metalitz and Bob Drake of the Henry George School of Chicago.

2007 Conference Liasons suggested: Bill Batt, Hong Nygen of the University and Denise Prowell of Clarks Summit. No decision is made.

2008 Site Selection Hanno Beck suggests a west coast conference, perhaps in Smithers, BC John Fisher speaks in favor.

Jeff Smith suggests Tacoma WA.

Budgets & Timelines: John Kromkowski withdraws this item from the agenda. Josh urges that timelines be better kept.

Strategy: Hartzok urges better internal communication. Lindy moves to authorize the CGO Executive Committee to contract with its Webmaster, Hanno Beck to put up a Georgist skills bank on the web. Motion carries 15 in favor; 4 opposed.

Pia DeSilva moves and Gib Halverson move to adjourn at 3:33 PM